How Swiftly I began to love Swift…

So, my last post was a little nasty.  Written like a conservative populist, which politically I’m not, but I admit I had my reservations about learning Swift then, and I stand by that opinion at that time.  I’ll be brief this time.   I’ve now had a chance to really do some work with Swift and I have to say overall I quite like it, and never expected that to happen so quickly.  Why the change of heart, you might ask?

  • I guess I don’t like learning from books, but I like learning by doing.  I find a lot of tutorials out there on the internet kind of superficial and boring.  I joined a project where there was already enough Swift code but not too much.  I had the opportunity to contribute based on some code I could already work from.
  • I really do like a lot of the features, such as enums (and being able to use string types)
  • The syntax is pretty good.  It does make for readable, type-safe code.
  • I’m surprised at how quickly one can just start writing useful code
  • Since Swift 3, there really is no reason to say no to it.  Previously it all felt “too new” and not finished.  The compiler warnings were a total disaster. For a strictly typed language, having poor compiler warnings was the most discouraging aspect to it. (Hence the rant about German bureaucrats who aren’t helpful but just say no)
  • I’m sure other reasons here as well

Now, it’s not like I’ve become blindly religious.  Sometimes I don’t like to the strictly typed language, but I suspect my frustration comes from the typical approach of “well, in Objective-C, I could just…” and not yet knowing the equivalent approach in Swift.

But all in all, I think it’s pretty easy to get up and running and to start writing Swift code that is useful and readable.  I’ve seen some library code that tells me I still have a lot to learn, but for now I think it’s kind of a “no turning back” situation.

I’ve already basically done all the types of things I’ve done in objective-C, and find that I really didn’t use KVO that much anymore anyway, so I don’t miss it.

I thought I’d just round off that last angry post with something nice.

Leave a Reply

