First Steps: Swift 2

I’m not an early adopter. I don’t like configuration and headaches. I like tools that work. Call me a guy with many other hobbies. I can wait until it’s mature.

With the release of Swift 2, and increasingly more solutions to problems posted in Swift, I decided it’s time to take the plunge.

Now, I’m finding that I’ve reached a level of experience where Stack Overflow is not always helpful because there are indeed a lot of solutions that are written by the one-eyed man amongst the blind. I don’t mean that in a snobby way. I refer to stack overflow as much as the next guy, but I’m finding it less helpful than I used to do (for Objective-C).

I’m also finding that where years ago I appreciated a good tutorial, now I think “hurry up”, or “where’s the meat of this??”

Preamble over. 🙂 I’m learning Swift just by reading through “The Swift Programming Language (Swift 2 Prerelease)” available on iBooks, and using a Playground in Xcode 7 (beta). It’s a well-written, well-organised book. Playgrounds are valuable just to quickly examine what’s happening.

My findings thus far (page 34), are:

– Swift is more than just the same thing, written differently
– It seems safer than Objective-C
– It seems more flexible than Objective-C
– There are some flavourings to the language that will result in different approaches to solving problems
– It seems to blur the lines between traditional data structures (Enum, Struct, Class)

I think it’s actually kind of a fun language and worth getting into. Not like we will soon have a choice anyway, but I’m positive about the transition. Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

