I Need a Clone

So many things I would love to build, love to learn, love to help out with, and there just aren’t enough hours in a day to do it all without sacrificing the things that aren’t programming, and yet are necessary to be able to *keep* programming.  I refer to physical activity, sleep, playing in a band, and well, just having a social life.  Being able to free your mind off hours makes it so much more useful ‘on the clock’.  Many people don’t realize this.  I’m thankful that I haven’t had to deal with the poor management practice of “Everybody is in 6+ days a week!” in my career in a long long time.  Why do developers have to bear the brunt of all the poor decisions upstream?  Exactly.  Shit floats downstream.  Developers don’t develop; we clean up other people’s shit without them really knowing it.  I’m happy I’m basically near the very top of a small outfit and get to call most of the shots about what gets done, when it gets done, why it gets done, and if it doesn’t get done, we need more people not harder work.

Asking a programmer to produce more is like asking a human to sleep faster.  Sometimes a half a day of being allowed to think results in way less time spent in the long run.  This is why I would never work for a large company unless I’m near the top and immune to middle management and metrics.  (Otherwise known as “how to kill a creative”)

And I was going to talk about clones or something…

 

Leave a Reply

