On the Separation of QA from Development

I don’t know maybe it’s just me, but it’s very important for me to be able to be “in the zone” when I’m programming.  If I’m in the zone, I feel superhuman and am able to accomplish the work of 2 or more people at once.  Being in the zone, in computer techie parlance, is like having a large store of volatile RAM completely loaded with all the information you’re working on trying to solve the problem.  Any time someone turns up to distract you, it’s like they’ve just pulled the plug on your computer.  Now you have to boot back up, load all the data, re-orient yourself with the task, then continue working.  Until the next distraction.

I notice I get extremely hostile when this continues to happen on any given day.  I request home office time a lot, not because I don’t like my co-workers or my work environment, quite the opposite actually, it’s just that I love being in the zone and know that it’s also good for me to be there from a business perspective.

We’re now going through a small QA cycle and so of course there will be bug reports.  What I’ve come to realise is that it’s important to keep testers away from developers.  Because testers will find a bug and feel that they need to tell you about it right away.  But, as mentioned before, they pull the plug each time they do so, then of course probably don’t understand why I slowly want to rip their head off.  “Dude, what’s your problem?”….

Well, here is my problem.  I just explained it.  Use Trello.  Put it on a card list.  Let me get to it asynchronously.  It’s better for everyone that way.  If I need clarification, I will come find you.  Not in any elitist sense, but purely business – my time is worth more than yours.   It’s best to prioritise my efficiency over yours.

Leave a Reply

